Monday, July 12, 2010

Schumann's Lively Piano Quintet in E Flat Major

This work was composed in October 1842. This is Op.44. Schumann was the first romantic composer to pair the pianoforte with the string quartet. In my earlier post, I have shared how Mahler wrote a single movement in his sixteenth year in A Minor.
This is the Allegro Brillante:

In Modo D'Una Marcia- Un Poco Largamente - A funeral march in C Minor:

Scherzo - Molto Vivace - ascending and descending scales;two trios; a lyrical canon for violin and viola and the second one an accented perpetual motion:

Allegro Ma Non Troppo begins in C Minor and not the tonic E Flat Major. At the conclusion, this main theme is combined with the Allegro Brillante theme with a double fugue:

No comments:

Post a Comment